HUMOURAM-Humor as Armor

Humouram

Its sometime around 2000, I am recovering from severe spinal cord surgery, bored , frustrated and obviously depressed. There were days when I didn’t move other than one time to washroom. It was a hell to me, to dependent on others all the time. My aunt one day challenged me that ,” you are saying what you cant do.. write to me what you can do..!” I started my list with ‘ I can read, write, watch movies, eat , etc..

Then I thought, there are many abilities in disabilities too.. and wanted to put my thoughts in form of an Article. Those times were early days of Internet in India, I was in remote village and worried about my bill. After finishing the article, I am too proud of it and wished to send somewhere, so I send to a website that first appeared about women. Surprisingly it got published and I got a remuneration rs. 500 . I am just like “hurray..!” . the article is titled “ Ability In Disability” and I received much praise for that.

After two months or so, I received a strange mail from a total stranger, by name Mr. Ram Sundher asking me about my welfare and a request. He says- he liked the article so much and he liked my coinage of word “Ability In Disability” and he wanted to use it for an NGO soon to be formed. I was delighted and said YES feeling someone liked my work. The friendship grew and he became my mentor. We are communicating through mails and occasional phone calls.

When in 2006, as part of my South India Disability Organizations tour, I hesitantly asked Ram , that “could he show me around in Bangalore? “ he, not only arranged everything in Bangalore and gave me leads on which NGOs to see and learn and the whole thing. It’s more than 10 workshops to me. I learned a lot. Lastly when he said , you know what .. the AID foundation after your article name .. do you remember that? .. I said yes, I remember that, then he said an astonishing fact ..Which I still can remember.. he said – “ the same AID foundation now employs more than 400 persons with disabilities in assembling and electrification works in Bangalore” .. I felt so elated and happy so calm at the same time.. that, what more I need as a writer and as a person who struggled for equal opportunities for persons with disabilities!

Over the years, our friendship grew to mentorship, right assistance in our social entrepreneurship work, Ram sings nostalgic and says …” hey we know each other too long.. “ . Together with Ram, Global AID has rose from strength to strength and working in several areas today.

What I learnt from Ram is a long list , but will try to summarize

  • · Humor is an armor to combat this life stress
  • · Social service is an extension of life’s cherished dreams. Do as much as you can and as long as you can.
  • · Graveyard makes you remember the impermanence of things. Visit that if you can and remember that in your mind if you can’t visit. It will make you understand what fun life is.
  • · There is no drama without trauma, just enjoy the drama.. don’t judge
  • · Be content with whatever little you do.
  • · Smile at victories.. laugh hard at failures
  • · Most of the people don’t want to associate with disability causes. You can make them associate by being yourself and being honest and frank.
  • · Not only the cause but also the journey.. focus on the journey too
  • · India and Indians are emotional but no one is a fool here. Have as much transparency as possible
  • · I never had big money. But I have big hearted friends. That’s enough to do the service and it’s the tension less pension
  • · Words are powerful. Make them your friends
  • · Compassion is every day’s job. Be compassionate to everyone, it should start from home
  • · Let go of people and projects you cant handle. You have not come here to DO IT ALL..!
  • · LIFE’S MAIN AIM IS TO BE HAPPY.. NOW THAT YOU HAVE HAPPY ( ANAND) .. FOCUS ON HAPPINESS AND HARMONY OF WORLD AROUND YOU.

The value of lessons I learnt from him .. I use on daily basis, in controlling my anger, frustration and depression.

ON HIS BIRTHDAY.. I HAVE ONLY WORDS TO GIVE HIM.. FOR ALL THE LOVE, EFFECTION AND RESPECT HE HAS GIVEN TO A WOMAN WHO IS CRAZY FOR SOCIAL WORK DESPITE SEVERE PHYSICAL DISABILITY.. HE TAUGHT ME TO SEE ME AS AN ASSET THAN A LIABILITY..!

HAVE A SUPER DUPER .. LAUGHING WALA BIRTHDAY RAM …. PAL PAL DIL KE PAAS ..AAP REHTHE HO..

–Sai Padma n Anand

( Written for my book on Indian Disability- Sharing on Ram’s Birthday)

© Sai Padma :// IPR  All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

