Bunker Roy- Barefoot inspiration for Wheelchair woman

image

 

It was India Development Coalition of America convention on Sustainable Development and Gandhian Thought,

Venue: Loyola University, Chicago, IL, USA

Presenter: Sai Padma Murthy

Her Status: Nervous Wreck (first time presenting her work on an International Platform!)

Background: She is one of the speakers among Mr. Satish Kumar, UK, who is considered as Living Gandhi among Ecologists and Economists as well. Further, in the guest list there is Mr. Bunker Roy, for her .. He is like GOD .. !!

A simple bulky man with friendly smile came to me said… And came, “ Hi Sai Padma, I am Bunker Roy.. I have come to listen your presentation..!!”

Gosh.. My heart skipped and might go into an attack… I said “ sir.. err.. well..I work with communities, my work is very basic..I haven’t presented much!”

He smiled and said – “ well , we all wish to work and listen voices of villages na .. isn’t it ? I am glad they chose you to present ..!”

I don’t know what I have talked .. but I remembered he saying , that’s good , ask them , social work is not about at begging stand point its about rights of many… you got to be more powerful in expressing .. people who don’t know field .. cant talk ground realities.. ! well done!”

He made my day.. he made me understand , what’s being simple and BAREFOOT..!!

For friends who don’t know him yet. follow this link : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bunker_Roy

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BUNKER JI… YOU CEMENTED MY DECISION TO SPEND A LIFETIME IN SOCIAL WORK..HAPPY BIRTHDAY ..!!

~~ Excerpts from my Upcoming Book on Wheelchair Travels

© Sai Padma://IPR All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

