Disability & Marriage @ 5

Image

It started with a small realization, of a promise and trust

From a non-believer of marriage as institution… that’s me

With

Another non-believer of God…. My then friend and Now Husband Anand

It’s Totally Crazy Journey of Love & Understanding and Working Out Our Relationships for 5 years

Yes.. Today Is our 5th Anniversary

A New Understanding, for a disabled woman like me, who is always at handling end of things, a manager of my life, constantly pursued and chased life… be it service, studies, career and humanity. A close friend of mine always used to laugh at me.. She says— Padma! You Pack atleast 48 hours in that given 24 Hours by god. Oh God! Woman You are crazy and you work as if there is no tomorrow, you are the slave driver…. Yes I was and I am still on many issues I am passionate about.

On the other hand, There is Anand, slow, sure, live at the moment, never hurried, passion about service, creative,empathetic, reads a book in two months, takes 10 minutes to even click a random photograph… and.. and…  ONLY FOCUSED ON ONE WORK AT A TIME…!!

We are as different as one can get.. typical chalk & cheese couple. In some crazy moments, I think how could he think so slowly, how could he be heartless, how could he? How could he? Grrrrrrr… it drives one goes almost mad, that too when a person like me on wheelchair..!

But when I have taken utmost abuse, on the pre-text of love,

When I am really really down.. He is the one who says.. coolly.. Are you going to die Padma? If something is not accessible this time, how can you afford not to see when you can really make an impact.

One Day in a good mood, I asked him – Do you love me more than anything else? He looked at me icredulously and said- NO I LOVE MY FREEDOM MORE THAN ANYTHING ELSE, NEXT YOU.. it’s like a  slap to me and then he asked me.. HOW CAN YOU LOVE OTHERS IF YOU CANT LOVE N RESPECT YOURSELF?

Today, I ask myself the same question everyday…

DO I LOVE n RESPECT MYSELF ENOUGH TO FACE THESE CHALLENGES…? I will move forward on any task only when I get a YES as answer..!

When we got married on the same day….

Some Close Family Thought- WE WILL BE MARRIED FOR AN YEAR OR SO

Some Close Friends Thought- THESE PEOPLE ARE TALKING TOO MUCH ABOUT IDEALS.. TOUGH TO SAIL!!

Some Total Strangers Thought- Well… That Lady Might has Tons of Money n This Fellow Might have Shady Past

WELL… I AM NOT HERE TO PROVE ANYONE RIGHT OR WRONG..

ALL I WANTED TO SAY (TO MANY MEN AND WOMEN WHO WANTS FULL LIFE, ABLED OR DISABLED, MORE SO FOR DISABLED MEN N WOMEN)

MARRIAGE AS AN INSTITUTION, ITS SUCCESS N FAILURE… LETS NOT DISCUSS..

BUT REAL TRUST AND COMPANIONSHIP NEEDS NO INSTITUTION ONLY… HONESTY N RESPECT ON SELF AND HUMANITY..!!

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO BOTH OF US…. WITH YOUR BEST WISHES AND BLESSINGS, I KNOW WE WILL BE IN LOVE WITH EACH OTHER AND HUMANITY

( My Blog Post is Dedicated to every man and woman who are afraid to fall in love, accept them as they are, just because they are persons with disabilities or certain abilities….with whom I speak on daily basis, thank you so much for your love, thank you so much for allowing me to reach you…!!)

—Sai Padma

—PragnAnandImage

 

 

 

 

6 Replies to “Disability & Marriage @ 5”

  1. Wish you both a very happy anniversary and many more happy returns of the day.You two are a great example of living with understanding and care.

  2. Wish you both many happy returns of the day. God bless you both full of happiness in your life

    E.V.RAMESH CHANDER, E.R.NIRMALA YOGESH & SANTOSH

  3. Sai/ Anand, u both are such inspiration to so many of us who have dreams and aspirations but are bound by our own fears and presumptions. You both have proved to the world that dreams do come true if one goes beyond the threshold of complexes, limitations ( within mind) and daring to go ahead reach out for the stars…..tons and tons of love and eternal togetherness to both of you…love, hugs & lots of kisses

Leave a Reply

